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FORM 1340 – REQUEST FOR LICENSURE EXEMPTION         No Fee 
 

Read the following information before completing this form: 
 

Arkansas Code Annotated § 6-51-612. Penalty For Operating School Without License. 

 

(a) Any person, admissions representative, each member of any association of persons, or 

each officer of any corporation who opens and conducts a school, satellite school, or 

extension course site, as defined in this subchapter, or an out-of-state school which offers 

to sell a program of study in Arkansas, without first having obtained a license required in 

this subchapter, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not less than one 

thousand dollars ($1,000) nor more than five thousand dollars ($5,000) or thirty (30) days 

imprisonment, or both, at the discretion of the court. 

 

(b) Each day said school continues to be open and operate shall constitute a separate 

offense. 

 

 

(Lines will expand as needed) 

 

NAME OF ORGANIZATION       
 

ADDRESS (LOCATION)        
 

CITY       STATE       ZIP       
 

ADDRESS (MAILING)       
 

CITY       STATE       ZIP       
 

TELEPHONE NUMBER       TOLL-FREE NUMBER       
 

WEBSITE       FAX NUMBER       
 

E-MAIL ADDRESS       
 

CONTACT PERSON       

 

Arkansas Code Annotated § 6-51-601 et.seq. requires that the State Board of Private Career Education 

license most persons or organizations offering training that leads to or enhances occupational 

qualifications.  

 

In order for a school to be granted an exemption, it must be shown that the school clearly and completely 

meets the provisions of one (1) or more of the specific exemptions. 

 

Mark an “X” by the number of the exemption(s) that applies to your organization. 
 

  (1) Private institutions exclusively offering instruction at any or all levels from preschool through 

twelfth grade. 
  

PROOF: To establish exemption under this section, a notarized affidavit and documentation 

showing that the school offers only curriculum that is typical of that taught in an 

Arkansas public school for preschool through twelfth grade.  
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 (2) Schools established by laws of Arkansas, governed by Arkansas boards and permitted to 

  operate for the sole purpose of providing specific training normally required to qualify persons 

  for occupational licensure by state boards or commissions, which determine education and 

  other standards for licensure and operation of such schools. 

 

 PROOF: To establish exemption under this section, the following evidence shall be 

submitted: 

 

 (a) Name of school; 

 (b) Names of programs; 

 (c) A copy of certificate, license, letter or other document showing 

approval of the school under another law of the State; 

 (d) A copy of regulations from another law of the State establishing 

requirements for operations; and 

 (e) Name, address, and phone number of the office enforcing the State  

  law by which the school is regulated and approved. 

 

 (3) State colleges and universities coordinated by the State Board of Higher Education. 

 

 PROOF: The website for the Arkansas Department of Higher Education will checked 

by Board staff.  The Board staff will request from the college or university 

any additional information needed. 

 

 (4) Programs of study offered by institutions or individuals for personal improvement, avocational or  

recreational, if designated through media or other sources, as not for the purpose of enhancing 

an occupational objective. 
 

 PROOF: To establish exemption under this section, the following evidence shall be 

submitted:   

 

  (a) Course name, content, length, and cost; 

 (b) Objectives of the course(s) and explanation of how the subject(s) are 

generally considered avocational or for recreational purposes; 

 (c) Types of students (examples: Children 7-12; homemakers, general 

public, etc.); and 

  (d) Copies of advertisements, including yellow page ads.  If there will be  

   no advertising, so state. 

 

 (5) Schools operated solely to provide programs of study in theology, divinity, religious education, 

  and ministerial training. 
 

 PROOF: To establish exemption under this section, the following evidence shall be 

submitted: 

 

 (a) A notarized affidavit stating the name of the organization, religion or 

denomination, and explain how it owns, controls, operates, and 

conducts the school.  Submit the by-laws and Articles of 

Incorporation if this institution is incorporated; 

 (b) A list of programs of study to be offered including length in clock or 

credit hours, cost, and program objective; 

 (c) A description of each course in each program; and 

 (d) A copy of the current school catalog. 

 

 (6) A training program offered or sponsored by an employer for training and preparation of its own 

  employees and for which no tuition fee is charged the employee. 
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 PROOF: To establish exemption under this section, the following evidence shall be 

submitted: 

 

 (a) Name of program; 

  (b) A notarized affidavit from the organization stating that no students 

other than employees will be solicited or enrolled.  Further, stating 

the employer will bear all the tuition costs and the employee will not 

be required to reimburse the employer by means of cash, production 

of work without pay, or any other means; and 

 (c) Include samples of advertising that will be used by the employer 

inside the business to recruit participants.  If there will be no 

advertising, so state. 

 

 (7) A program of study sponsored by a recognized trade, business, or professional organization 

  for instruction of the members of the organization with a closed membership and for which no  

  fee is charged the member. 
  

 PROOF: To establish exemption under this section, the following evidence shall be 

submitted: 

 

  (a) Name of program; 

  (b) A letter shall be submitted that includes an explanation as to how the 

membership is closed.  Membership is not closed if any member of 

the public can join.  Such organizations must provide other services 

and benefits to their members in addition to the educational 

instruction they offer.  In addition, the organizations may be asked to 

furnish the charter and by-laws; 

  (c) A notarized affidavit from the organization stating that no students 

other than members of the organization mentioned in (b) will be 

solicited or enrolled; and 

  (d) Samples of newspaper and yellow page ads, brochures and any other 

means of soliciting or advertising.  If there will be no advertising, so 

state. 

 

 (8) A school or educational institution supported by state or local government taxation. 

  

 PROOF To establish exemption under this section, submit evidence that the school 

is  supported by taxation.  More than fifty percent (50%) of the school funds 

must be tax dollars from a state or local source. 

 

 (9) Flight instructors licensed under appropriate Federal Aviation Administration. 
  

 PROOF: To establish exemption under this section, submit proof of FAA approval. 

 

 (10) Schools covered by Arkansas Code Annotated § 6-61-301 (a)(3) and exempted from § 6-61-

101 et.seq. 

 

 PROOF: To establish exemption under this section, the college or university shall be 

one of the following:  Arkansas Baptist College, Central Baptist College, 

Crowley’s Ridge College, Harding University, Hendrix College, John Brown 

University, Lyon College, Ouachita Baptist University, Philander Smith 

College, Shorter College, University of the Ozarks or Williams Baptist 

College.  The Board staff will request from the college or university any 

additional information needed. 
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 (11) Training offered by other Arkansas state agencies, boards, or commissions.  

 

 PROOF: To establish exemption under this section, the agency, board, or 

commission shall submit the following if a question arises regarding 

training: 

 

 (a) Name, address, and phone number of agency, board, or commission; 

 (b) Name of person in charge of training; and  

 (c) Arkansas Code Title, Chapter and Subchapter numbers that created the 

agency, Board, or commission. 

 

 (12) (A) Training offered on military bases where a majority of the students enrolled are 

active duty personnel or their adult family members, United States Department of 

Defense civilian employees or their adult family members, members of the United 

States Armed Forces reserve components, and retirees. 

(B) These organizations shall remain exempt from the requirement for licensure if 

required to move off the military installation for a period of not more than ninety 

(90) days because of a change in security level which would not allow civilian 

students on the installation. 

(C) The Board shall have the authority to review any situations that extend past the 

ninety-day period and determine whether the exemption status should remain for 

the school. 

 

 PROOF: To establish exemption under this section, the organization offering training 

on the military base shall submit the following if a question arises regarding 

training. 

 

(i)   Name of organization; and 

(ii) A notarized attendance list indicating status for each student as 

active duty personnel, active duty personnel adult family member, 

United States Department of Defense civilian employee, United 

States Department of Defense civilian employee adult family 

member, a member of the United States Armed Forces reserve 

components, or retiree. 

 

 

STATEMENT OF COMPLIANCE 

 

Under penalty of perjury, I declare and affirm that the statements made on this form, including any 

attached sheets, are true, complete, and accurate.  I understand that there are penalties for operating a 

school without a license in the State of Arkansas.  

 

 

Printed Name of Official       Title       
 

Signature of Official       Date       

 


